May 2018 - Monthly Life Review

May was a very busy month, in fact so busy that I didn't time keep for 2 weeks straight. Which is the longest I've gone without doing it, I usually try to timekeep every 1-2 days.

I worked a lot, went out with work friends a lot, parkour-ed a lot and just barely spent any time at home. This obviously affected my website and I kind of lost track of my goals and time keeping. The cool thing about these monthly reviews is that I might not have realised these things had I not actually sat down to look at the patterns and changes in numbers. 

Nevertheless, while I recognise I probably need more time to recharge, May was a really nice month. :) 

 Let me know any thoughts on the review - I'm literally changing it every month so feedback is always welcome. 


The Pie Chart of my Life

The pie chart of my life, for May 2018. Breakdown is the average number of hours spent per day. 

You can see Parkour and Work increased, and Sleep and Website decreased because I was barely at home and came home late often. 

Hours Per Week Chart - May 2018.jpg

May News

Hung out with work mates a lot

Did something after work with work friends 10 out of 22 shifts this month. Woah. This was a combo of new team members, starting social sports, co-worker farewells, etc.

 

Didn't timekeep for 2 weeks

This is the longest I've ever gone without updating my timekeeping sheet. 

 

Started cold showers

19 out of 31 days I had a cold shower. Two friends told me about cold showers helping them get less sick, so I tried it. If you remember, I got horrifically sick in March so I wanted to start getting stronger.

 

Parkour: Trained 6.8 hours / week

Parkour Graph - May 2018 Monthly Review

Goal 1: Train 5 hours per week

Average hours per week = 6.8 hours / week

Woo, gotta be happy with that, went way above my goal! I actually felt like I practiced quite effectively too, and saw improvement in May. 

 

Goal 2: Drilling

  • Do a flip landing well on a crash mat 
  • Get comfortable jumping to small surfaces 
  • Perfect double cats

I didn't end up focusing on these goals. This month I spent less time "drilling" specific moves and more time just 'playing' with what was there. 

While this was really fun and helped me improve, a mixture of drill & fun sessions is probs best for me

 

Parkour video update!

One of my friends helped me edit a video! I always intend to make more videos but never get around to it.

She really helped push this along, so I really appreciate have this to see progression.

 

June focus:

  • Have a mix of drill, play, flip and outdoor sessions
 

WORK: inspiring month at Tesla :)

A really great month of work as I focused on quality, listening to customers and making eye contact. I've always been told that the secret is listening and that eye contact helps too, but I was surprised to find it actually worked and I could connect to customers better. 

Also, I worked a shift with our Tesla Tiny House which was AWESOME. It's a tiny house that Tesla built with solar panels on top, connected to a Tesla Powerwall that stores the solar energy. Then when the sun was gone, we could actually USE the sun's energy to charge the car.

It was crazy to see the Tesla ecosystem in action with my own eyes. It's an unreal concept to be in the middle of a PARK in Sydney CBD and be able to fill up our car with the sun's energy. Reminded me that this is why we do what we do. :)

Tesla Powerwall (the big white block) on the Tiny House, storing energy from the sun

CHARGING THE CAR from the Powerwall!!!

 
Work Graph - May 2018 Monthly Review.jpg

Hours worked = 48.5 hrs / week

  • 42.0 hours / week scheduled
  • 6.5 hours / week overtime
  • 14 out of 22 shifts I worked overtime for 30+ minutes. 

Some days I'd even skip lunch, but I started to realise this actually made me cranky and do worse work. So in the end, I think it's better to take time away from work to recharge and refresh. 

 

JUNE Focus:

  • MUST create a routine: Admin and calls done in the morning, focus on floor and drives rest of day
 

Website: only wrote 1 post :(

Website Sessions Per Week Graph - May 2018 Monthly Review.jpg
Website Graph - May 2018 Monthly Review.jpg

Goal: 3 sessions per week

Sessions per week (May) = 0.7

Total hours spent per week (avg) = 1.2 hrs / week

A bad month for website as I was constantly out, and never prioritised working on my website or being home. 

 

 

Goal: 2 posts per month

Number of posts in May = 1  

Disappointing. :(

 

 

June Focus:

  • MUST Write June Monthly Review WITHIN first week July to refocus you early on
 

Save up and move out

May 2018 Expenses - May Monthly Review

May Expense goal = $1,100

Final May expenses = $1,232

Went over budget due to going out for drinks with work mates. Spent $280 on drinks in May vs. $30 in April....

Goal for June = $1,200 in expenses

 

 
May 2018 - Saving to date.png

Savings goal: $20,000 by June

Savings to date (May) = $18,000 / $20,000

Woohoo I need to set aside $2,000 for savings in June and then I should be all sweet.

 

 

Moving out Goal: closer to city July 2018

Update: I did attempt to organise viewings of a select few places which had great price and location, however both of the viewings fell through on the seller's side. 

 

And that's a wrap for May!

If you have any thoughts

I'd be interested to hear them in the comment section below or via email at hullo@immahuman.com. See you soon for the next review! :)

 

Note on my Monthly Reviews

My Monthly Reviews are sectioned based on my 2018 Goals and the core focuses I chose for the year. In regards to all the graphs and way I keep track of time, here is an Introduction to my Time Keeping Project.

 

 


Interested in my other Monthly Reviews?