September 2018 - Monthly Life Review

September had a lot of different things happening in different aspects of my life.

I actually put off doing the monthly review for a long time in September. That means by the time it came for me to reflect on August and notice learnings, it was too late to implement it for Sept. BUT IT’S NOT TOO LATE FOR OCTOBER!

Another benefit of these monthly reviews I’ve found is that it’s helped me to recognise my priorities for the month. Because while I do want to hit high in all my goals and believe it’s possible, sometimes different priorities come up.

This month, I put my hand up for a bigger role at work and was also working out my relationship with J, so they took priority in September.

 

Note on my Monthly Reviews

My Monthly Reviews are sectioned based on my 2018 Goals and the core focuses I chose for the year. In regards to all the graphs and way I keep track of time, here is an Introduction to my Time Keeping Project.


The Pie Chart of my Life

The pie chart of my life, for September 2018. Breakdown is the average number of hours spent per day. 

Pie Chart of my life - September 2018 Monthly Review

Work came back down to a more normal level, and Parkour & Website came up a bit. Overall, still not at the level I’d like it to be but that’s what these reviews are for.

Hours Per Week - Sep 2018

September Overview

30 Day Challenge

the 30 day challenge

A good friend and I did a 30 Day Challenge (no chips, ice cream, fast food, desserts, etc) for most of September. It was very very very hard. I basically thought about snacks all the time.

Training new staff at work

I put my hand up for a promotion at work, and for more responsibilities. My manager asked me to help train our new starter on the team and it was a lot of fun!

Deciding with j

J and I started talking again. It’s been a bit of a loco year apart, since South America. I’m excited to see him again.

The good ol’ Coogee to Bondi walk, but with some different twists and turns from the main path. Felt awesome to explore nature again, I hadn’t been to the ocean in a while.

The good ol’ Coogee to Bondi walk, but with some different twists and turns from the main path. Felt awesome to explore nature again, I hadn’t been to the ocean in a while.

 

 

Productivity

Productivity Graph - September 2018 Monthly Review

Mood = 2.23

(1 = bad mood, 2 = average, 3 = very happy) 

 

Parkour: Trained 3.8 hours / week

Parkour Training Graph - Sep 2018

Goal: Train 5 hours per week

September hours per week =

3.8 hours / week

 

Another month under goal. But at least it was an improvement vs August.

I de-prioritised Parkour in September because I had some important personal things to work out with J so I gave that priority. I also applied for a promotion at work so I knew that had to take priority too.

In October, Parkour will be back on track. :)

 

WORK: more responsibilities

Hours Worked Graph - Sep 2018

Hours worked:

46.2 hrs / week

Big month at work putting my hand up for a position with more responsibilities.

It’s been really good learning a new aspect of my job, training our new starter, starting to see things more from a managerial perspective.

 

Website: No good

 
Website Posts - Sep 2018

Goal: 2 posts per month

Posts this month: 1

Just 1 post in September and I posted it very late, aka instead of reviewing August as soon as it finished, I didn’t do the review until the last day of September.

I actually stopped doing do time-keeping daily so I had to do a lot of catchup. This delayed my monthly review because, before I could even write the review, I’d have to backtrack like 20 days of timekeeping and it totally killed the momentum.

To remedy this, I’ve now downloaded the Google Sheets app onto my phone so I can input throughout the day.

October I will post 2 posts.

 
 

Expenses: Spent $1,746

Expenses - Sep 2018 Monthly Review

Goal = $1,500

September expenses = $1,746

I spent a lot more money on eating out this month, mainly because of the 30 Day Challenge. For example, I spent $210 on eating out this month, versus $110 in August and $90 in July.

Because I wasn’t able to eat all these foods I normally do, I started resorted to eating outside food to get a flavour high. Also started smashing bubble milk teas.

Another thing was Father’s Day which my brother and I decided to do more than we usually do (aka not much) so we hosted a big family BBQ and got my dad some shirts he really liked. I think money spent this way is well-spent though, it made my dad really happy.

 

And that's a wrap for september!

If you have any thoughts

I'd be interested to hear them in the comment section below or via email at hullo@immahuman.com. See you soon for the next review! :) 

 


Interested in my other Monthly Reviews?